Tony awards live updates: From Kiss Me Kate to Oklahoma, all the winners, performances and highlights from tonight’s ceremony

The 2019 Tony Awards take place tonight (9 June), with James Corden handling hosting duties for the second time.

Hadestown, an adaptation of Anaïs Mitchell’s folk opera album of the same name, leads the way with 14 nominations.

Follow along with all the latest from the Tony Awards with The Independent’s live blog below.

And the Tony for Best Play goes to… The Ferryman!

Cranston, who plays a journalist in Network, dedicates his award to reporters and reminds viewers that the media aren’t the ennemy of the people. Call me biased, but I can only agree.

“Finallya straight, old, white man gets a break!” Cranston jokes in faux glee.

This is Cranston’s second Tony win.

And the Tony Award goes to… Bryan Cranston!

Laura Linney and Regina King are presenting the award for best performance by an actor in a leading role in a play.

And the winner is… Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Oklahoma!

Wooo Sutton Foster and Andrew Rannells take the stage! They’re presenting the Tony Award for best revival of a musical. There are only two nominees: Kiss Me, Kate and Oklahoma!

And the Tony goes to… Hadestown composer and lyricist Anaïs Mitchell!

David Byrne and Vanessa Carlton are presenting the award for best original score (music and/or lyrics) written for the theatre.

McDonald and Linney faux-fight and Corden introduces Billy Porter to the stage. Peace returns instantly.

Audra McDonald to the rescue! She claims Laura Linney flipped her off during a matinee. “Yeah, that was me,” says Linney as she joins the skit. “You got a problem with that, Audra?”

Andrew Rannells is now (jokingly) accusing Darren Criss of ignoring his email party invitation. Turns out… Rannells had the wrong email address. He and Criss are friends again! Corden despairs.

Ben Platt volunteers! He immediately regrets his decision. Platt tells Rachel Brosnahan she once bumped into him by mistake. Corden’s plot to have them argue is foiled because Platt and Brosnahan are both so nice they’re just heaping praise on each other.

Corden says the ceremony needs some fights and beefs to boost TV ratings. He’s opening up the floor for people to get whatever they want off their chests.

Oscar-winning director and producer Sam Mendes has won his first directing Tony Award for guiding The Ferryman.

The play is a vigorous family epic set in Northern Ireland in 1981 during the Troubles. It requires a 21-person cast, plus a baby and animals. 

Mendes’ previous Broadway work included Cabaret, The Vertical Hour, Gypsy, The Blue Room and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. He founded the powerhouse Donmar Warehouse and won an Oscar for directing American Beauty.

Mendes is the director of the 007 sagas Skyfall and Spectre, Road to Perdition, Jarhead and Away We Go.

Mendes did not attend Sunday’s ceremony. 


Earlier tonight, Mart Crowley’s The Boys in the Band, a pioneering work in the LGBTQ canon, won the Tony Award for best play revival. 

The play revolves around a group of gay men who gather together for a birthday party in the spring in New York City and helped to spark a revolution by presenting gay men and their lives onstage without judgment. 

The Boys in the Band opened off-Broadway on April 14, 1968 (before the Stonewall Riots). It ran for more than a 1,000 performances. The revival starred Robin De Jesus, Jim Parsons, Zachary Quinto, Matt Bomer and Andrew Rannells. 

It beat out All My Sons, The Waverly Gallery, Burn This and Torch Song. Ryan Murphy has announced he will adapt The Boys in the Band into a movie for Netflix.



James Graham, the British author of Ink, just joked that politics are rather boring in the UK at the moment. Good one, Mr Graham.

OK this was very fun.


Please allow the live-blog a moment to load.

The jukebox musical Ain’t Too Proud, featuring music by The Temptations, follows with 12 nominations, with Tootsie in third with 11 nominations.

The Ferryman – The London production of which won multiple Evening Standard Theatre Awards – has been nominated for nine Tonys and Beetlejuice nominated for eight. 

The three-hour event will be broadcast on CBS in the United States at 8pm ET (1am BST) from New York City’s Radio City Music Hall. Elaine Paige will host a special programme covering the ceremony on BBC Radio 2.

Over the course of the evening, there will be performances from many of the casts of the musicals, including Ain’t Too Proud, Hadestown, Tootsie, Beetlejuice, The Cher Show, Choir Boy, Kiss Me, Kate, Oklahoma! and The Prom.

Source link

You may also like

Popular News

Featured News

Trending News